top of page
Visions and Requiem

Visions and Requiem


This is the latest major work by John Rutter - Visions. It is a four-movement showpiece for solo violin, string orchestra, harp and choir of treble voices, based on the theme of Jerusalem, the Holy City of prophetic imaginations. It was composed at the invitation of the 2016 Menuhin Competition and premiered at a Festival concert in London's historic Temple Church by Kerson Leong, winner of the 2010 Junior Menuhin Prize, and the Choristers of the Temple Church. They are joined by the Cambridge Singers and the young and vibrant Aurora Orchestra.


Album recorded by The Cambridge Singers | Choristers of the Temple Church | Aurora Orchestra | Kerson Leong (violin)


Conducted by John Rutter


Track list:

1. Visions: Processional and prelude: Jerusalem the blessed

2. Visions: Arise, Shine

3. Visions: Lament for Jerusalem

4. Visions: Finale: The holy city

5. Requiem: Requiem aeternam

6. Requiem: Out of the deep

7. Requiem: Pie Jesu

8. Requiem: Sanctus

9. Requiem: Agnus Dei

10. Requiem: The Lord is my shepherd

11. Requiem: Lux aeterna